CGEIT - Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT

The CGEIT qualification

The CGEIT (Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT) qualification, awarded by ISACA®, demonstrates that holders have the expert knowledge and experience necessary to support GEIT (governance of enterprise IT) – ensuring that an organisation’s IT is governed from the top, and therefore aligned with business needs and goals.

The certification was designed for professionals with significant management experience relating to GEIT, and is recognised across the world as one of the information security industry’s premier qualifications.

Book your place on the CGEIT training course today 

Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) Training Course

CISMP Exam Preperation Training Programme

Our CGEIT training course has been designed to provide a complete preparation for the ISACA CGEIT exam and ensure you pass at your first attempt.

What are the requirements for the CGEIT qualification?

CGEIT is awarded to candidates with at least five years’ relevant work experience who pass a rigorous written exam based on five job practice domains:

  • Domain 1: Framework for the Governance of Enterprise IT (25% of exam)

    “Ensure the definition, establishment, and management of a framework for the governance of enterprise IT in alignment with the mission, vision and values of the enterprise.”

  • Domain 2: Strategic Management (20% of exam)

    “Ensure that IT enables and supports the achievement of enterprise objectives through the integration and alignment of IT strategic plans with enterprise strategic plans.”

  • Domain 3: Benefits Realization (16% of exam)

    “Ensure that IT-enabled investments are managed to deliver optimized business benefits and that benefit realization outcome and performance measures are established, evaluated and progress is reported to key stakeholders.”

  • Domain 4: Risk Optimization (24% of exam)

    “Ensure that an IT risk management framework exists to identify, analyze, mitigate, manage, monitor, and communicate IT-related business risk, and that the framework for IT risk management is in alignment with the enterprise risk management (ERM) framework.”

  • Domain 5: Resource Optimization (15% of exam)

    “Ensure the optimization of IT resources including information, services, infrastructure and applications, and people, to support the achievement of enterprise objectives.”

You can find more information about the five domains on the ISACA website.

How do you pass the CGEIT exam at the first attempt?

We recommend the following:

  1. Check that you have the relevant five years of work experience to qualify.
  2. Register and schedule your exam direct with ISACA.
  3. Purchase the official ISACA study guides and third-party textbooks.
  4. Plan a self-study programme that covers all of the CGEIT knowledge domains.
  5. Attend our CGEIT Exam Preparation Training Course a few days before you sit the exam.

How to register and schedule the CGEIT exam

The CGEIT exam is offered via a computer-based testing session, which is available during three testing windows per year.
You must first register online with ISACA and pay for the exam in advance.

ISACA’s 2019 exam registration fees are:

  • $575 (about €512) for ISACA members
  • $760 (about €677) for non-members

You will then receive email instructions on how to schedule an exam appointment at a local PSI exam centre.

Study for the Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) examination

Our complete range of CGEIT study guides and training services:


Essential CGEIT books and study guides

Preparation is essential to passing the CGEIT exam and we strongly advise that you purchase the CGEIT exam and study guides. All titles are available from our dedicated ISACA certification bookstore.

We particularly recommend the CGEIT Exam Passport, which includes copies of the CGEIT Review Manual, 7th Edition, and the CGEIT Review Questions, Answers and Explanations Manual, 4th Edition.

Maintaining your CGEIT

The CGEIT CPE (continuing professional education) policy aims to ensure that all CGEITs maintain an adequate level of knowledge and proficiency by attaining and reporting 20 CPE hours a year.

In addition, a minimum of 120 contact hours are required during a fixed three-year period. Failing to comply with these requirements will result in your CGEIT designation being revoked.

See the Maintain Your CGEIT page on the ISACA website for further details.

Speak to an expert

Please contact our team for advice and guidance on our CGEIT products and services.

SAVE 25%