IT Governance Training Certifications

The Value of Training Certifications

Qualifications awarded by accredited and respected organisations are an essential requirement of any IT governance professional. With an ever-increasing demand for qualified staff, most employers offer enhanced career opportunities to candidates who have certified qualifications and relevant experience.

IT Governance Ltd delivers a unique and unrivalled training portfolio of training courses and examinations leading to accredited qualifications awarded by BCS Professional Certification, (ISC)²®, ISACA®, APMG-International, and the International Board for IT Governance Qualifications (IBITGQ).

Speak to an expert

Accredited to ISO 17024 – the international gold standard for IT qualifications

All of our courses deliver or lead on to qualifications awarded by exam bodies that are fully accredited to the ISO/IEC 17024:2012 standard (Conformity assessment – General requirements for bodies operating certification of persons).

Compliance with ISO 17024 specifies that accredited certifications will:

  • Meet a global, industry-recognised benchmark
  • Are consistent, comparable and reliable worldwide
  • Demonstrate that holders have the necessary knowledge and skills
  • Be validated to ensure they are recognised by employers and peers

Qualifications that are accredited to ISO 17024 are recognised and highly valued by employers throughout the world.

Certificates awarded by non-ISO 17024-accredited organisations

The nature and complexity of the IT industry has created hundreds of training courses and qualifications over the years. Many are hardware or software-vendor-specific, and – in the context of training staff to configure and operate these products – provide a perfectly adequate demonstration of knowledge and skills. They are, however, often linked to the purchase of products and, as such, are subject to the commercial bias of a very competitive IT marketplace. Independent and accredited exam bodies such as ISACA, (ISC)², BCS and IBITGQ have been created both to counteract this bias and provide consistent and comparable qualifications on an international basis.

There are also many organisations that deliver training and award their own qualifications associated with international IT standards and regulations such as ISO 27001, ISO 22301, the PCI DSS and the EU GDPR. These include certification bodies such as BSI and LRQA, which, while fully accredited to audit and certificate ISO standards, are not accredited to ISO 17024.

IT Governance Ltd is proud to be partnered with the following training organisations:


International Board for IT Governance Qualifications (IBITGQ)

The International Board for IT Governance Qualifications (IBITGQ) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to providing global training, accredited qualifications and continuing professional development for information security, business resilience and IT governance professionals.

IBITGQ is an examination board that specifies the syllabus and learning outcomes required for the training course and exam associated with each IBITGQ qualification. It is also responsible for the appointment of accredited training organisations (ATO), which are required to develop their own training material that meets the requirements of each syllabus and is independently accredited by GASQ (Global Association for Software Quality) as meeting these requirements.

IBITGQ qualifications are certified by GASQ, which is fully accredited to the ISO/IEC 17024:2012 standard (Conformity assessment – General requirements for bodies operating certification of persons).

All IBITGQ training courses are created by IT Governance Ltd. These courses include the unique ISO 27001 Learning Pathway which was created by leading ISO 27001 experts Alan Calder and Steve Watkins. This pathway includes an introductory ISO 27001 Certified ISMS Foundation course and our internationally renowned ISO 27001 Certified ISMS Lead Implementer and Lead Auditor courses.

IBITGQ-approved courses and examinations are:

  • Known as the ‘practitioner’s qualification’, combining an academic and practical approach

  • Certified by GASQ, an independent exam body accredited to ISO 17024

  • Global industry benchmarks for IT governance qualifications, with structured syllabuses and learning outcomes.

  • Designed to maximise time effectiveness and reduce time away from the office

  • Delivered in the classroom or online to be flexible and allow access from anywhere in the world

  • Part of learning pathways with Foundation and Advanced levels to support future training

BCS Professional Certification

With a global reputation, this membership organisation is committed to providing flexible learning, rigorous assessment and qualifications that show employers and customers that certificate holders have achieved the industry-recognised benchmark in relevant skills and competence.


As an independent, not-for-profit, global association, ISACA engages in the development, adoption and use of globally accepted, industry-leading knowledge and practices for information systems.

ISACA certifications are among the most highly regarded must-have qualifications for building a senior management career in information security, IT audit and IT governance.


The International Information System Security Certification Consortium, Inc. – (ISC)² – is an international, not-for-profit leader in educating and certifying cyber, information, software and infrastructure security professionals throughout their careers.

Awarded by (ISC)², CISSP is a globally recognised standard of achievement that confirms an individual's knowledge in the field of information security. The CISSP Accelerated Training Programme is designed to provide a concentrated and comprehensive preparation to ensure that delegates pass the long (up to six hours) and difficult (ISC)² CISSP examination.


APMG-International is an award-winning examination institute that accredits professional training and consulting organisations, and manages certification schemes for knowledge-based workers.

The IT Governance Ltd courses that deliver APMG qualifications include the COBIT 5 Foundation, Implementation and Assessor sessions, together with the flagship ISO 20000 Practitioner classroom course.

SAVE 25%