How to transition to ITIL 4

If you work in IT, youll probably have come across ITIL®, the globally recognised framework that helps organisations manage their ITSM (IT service management) requirements. 

The framework is updated regularly to make sure it’s suitable for the ever-evolving IT industry, and in 2019, the latest version, ITIL 4, was released. 

The changes were a result of ITIL’s owner, AXELOS, conductingmore than 30 workshops and research sessions. 

ITIL 4 has been described as more nimble and contemporary than its predecessor, and aims to be more relevant to organisations and relate better to the ITSM community. 

Adam Stewart, head of business skills at QA, concludes that ITIL 4 “[is] much more relevant to developers, practitioners and businesses. This latest iteration moves away from a traditional process-led approach to value-driven delivery for people and organizations.” 

Adopting ITIL ® 4 – A practical overview for beginners

This free paper discusses:

  • What ITSM (IT service management) is and why you should adopt it;
  • The benefits of ITIL; and
  • How the key components of ITIL 4 work, including the SVS (service value system), value streams and four dimensions model

Download now >>

Transitioning to ITIL 4

If you’ve already certified to ITIL v3, or have at least 17 ITIL v3 Intermediate or Practitioner credits, you should take the ITIL 4 Foundation training course to update your knowledge. 

The core concepts remain the same, but there are some key changes that you must familiarize yourself with.  

After passing the Foundation exam, ITIL practitioners can choose between two ITIL certification ‘streams’: ITIL 4 MP (Managing Professional) and ITIL 4 Strategic Leader. 

ITIL MP “targets IT practitioners working within technology and digital teams across businesses”, and contains four modules: 

  1. ITIL 4 Specialist Create, Deliver and Support 
  2. ITIL 4 Specialist Drive Stakeholder Value 
  3. ITIL 4 Specialist High-Velocity IT 
  4. ITIL 4 Strategic Direct, Plan and Improve 

The ITIL 4 Strategic Leader stream focuses on business strategy and digitally enabled services. It consists of two modules: 

  1. ITIL 4 Strategist Direct, Plan and Improve 
  2. ITIL 4 Leader Digital and IT Strategy. 


Become a Managing Professional with IT Governance

If you’re looking to advance with ITIL, chances are it’s through the Managing Professional stream, because it provides a broader knowledge of the framework. But with four modules to get through, studying might seem like a daunting task. 

That’s where IT Governance comes in. We’ve created guidebooks on each module, giving you the necessary knowledge to succeed. 


  1. Olushola Ogunseitan 23rd December 2020
  2. Jennifer Walsom 25th March 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.